Prof. Dr. Clemens Ladenburger LL.M.


Principal Legal Adviser in the Legal Service of the European Commission, Brussels

2019
Appointment as Honorary Professor at Saarland University

Since November 2107
Principal Legal Adviser (Director), Head of the Justice and Home Affairs Department of the Legal Service of the European Commission. It is responsible for asylum law, migration, border management and Schengen, internal security, citizenship, criminal law and judicial cooperation in civil matters.

April - October 2017
Principal adviser on migration and strategic horizontal affairs including Brexit, Legal Service of the European Commission.

2008 - 2017
Assistant to the Director-General of the Legal Service of the European Commission. Assisting the Director General in all legal matters; coordinating the legal activities of the service with regard to legal advice and control within the Commission and with regard to its positions before the European Court of Justice. She focused on institutional issues, implementation of the Lisbon Treaty, economic and monetary union, external relations, justice and home affairs, budgetary and personnel law and agriculture. 2012 appointment as legal adviser.

September 2003 - 2007
Return to the Legal Service (Institutional Law Section), responsible in particular for the EU Constitution and the Intergovernmental Conference on the Treaty of Lisbon 2007, Fundamental Rights, Legal Affairs of the Anti-Fraud Office OLAF, Infringement proceedings (Article 228). Deputy Delegate of the Commission to the "Venice Commission" of the Council of Europe. Commission of the European Communities before the Court of Justice of the European Communities and the European Court of Human Rights.

2002 - Summer 2003
Seconded by the Commission to the Secretariat of the European Constitutional Convention. There he acts as "rédacteur" in the drafting of the draft Constitution. Priorities in terms of content: Justice and home affairs, fundamental rights, legal protection / reform of the ECJ, forms of action and decision-making procedures, revision of the legal bases.

Since 1999
Member of the Legal Service of the European Commission (EU official since 2001), responsible in particular for the EU Charter of Fundamental Rights. Participation in the 2000 Convention on Fundamental Rights.

1998 - 1999
Delegated by the BMJ to the Cabinet of the Secretary-General of the Council of the EU, responsible for Justice and Home Affairs.

1998
Entry into the Federal Ministry of Justice.

1996 - 1998
Scientific assistant at the University of Heidelberg (with Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. E. Schmidt-Aßmann). Doctorate there in 1999.

1987 - 1992
Studied law in Freiburg i.Brsg. and Geneva; 1st State Examination in Law 1992.

Prof. Dr. Clemens Ladenburger LL.M.


Hauptrechtsberater im Juristischen Dienst der Europäischen Kommission, Brüssel

2019
Ernennung zum Honorarprofessor an der Universität des Saarlandes
Seit November 2107

Hauptrechtsberater (Direktor), Leiter der Abteilung „Justiz und Inneres“ im Juristischen Dienst der Europäischen Kommission. Die Abteilung ist zuständig für Asylrecht, Migration, Grenzschutz und Schengen, Innere Sicherheit, Unionsbürgerschaft, Strafrecht sowie justizielle Zusammenarbeit in Zivilsachen.

April - Oktober 2017

Hauptberater für Migration und strategische horizontale Angelegenheiten einschließlich Brexit, Juristischer Dienst der Europäischen Kommission.

2008 - 2017
Assistent des Generaldirektors des Juristischen Dienstes der Europäischen Kommission. Unterstützung des Generaldirektors in allen Rechtsfragen; Koordinierung der juristischen Tätigkeit des Dienstes hinsichtlich der Rechtsberatung und -kontrolle innerhalb der Kommission sowie hinsichtlich ihrer Positionen vor dem Europäischen Gerichtshof. Schwerpunkte waren institutionelle Fragen, Umsetzung des Vertrages von Lissabon, Wirtschafts- und Währungsunion, Außenbeziehungen, Justiz und Inneres, Haushalts- und Personalrecht sowie Landwirtschaft. 2012 Ernennung zum Rechtsberater.
September 2003-2007
Wieder im Juristischen Dienst (Abteilung "Institutionelles Recht"), zuständig v.a. für EU-Verfassung und die Regierungskonferenz zum Vertrag von Lissabon 2007, Grundrechte, Rechtsfragen des Betrugsbekämpfungsamts OLAF, Vertragsverletzungsverfahren (Artikel 228). Stellvertretender Delegierter der Kommission in der "Venedig-Kommission" des Europarates. Prozessbevollmächtigter der Kommission vor dem EuGH und dem EGMR
2002-Sommer 2003
Von der Kommission abgeordnet ins Sekretariat des europäischen Verfassungskonvents. Dort tätig als "Rédacteur" bei der Erarbeitung des Verfassungsentwurfs. Inhaltliche Schwerpunkte: Justiz- und Inneres, Grundrechte, Rechtsschutz / Reform des EuGH, Handlungsformen und Entscheidungsverfahren, Überarbeitung der Rechtsgrundlagen.
Seit 1999
Mitglied des Juristischen Dienstes der Europäischen Kommission (seit 2001 als EU-Beamter), zuständig insbesondere für die EU-Grundrechtecharta. Teilnahme am Grundrechte-Konvent 2000
1998-1999
Vom BMJ entsandt in das Kabinett des Generalsekretärs des Rates der EU, zuständig für Justiz und Inneres
1998
Eintritt ins Bundesministerium der Justiz
1996-1998
Wissenschaftlicher Assistent an der Universität Heidelberg (bei Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. E. Schmidt-Aßmann). 1999 dort promoviert
1987-1992
Studium der Rechtswissenschaft in Freiburg i.Brsg. und Genf; 1. Juristisches Staatsexamen 1992.