Student Awards

The Europa-Institut receives a total of three prizes from different donors - via Villa Lessing, via the Hans-Werner Osthoff-Stiftung and also a team prize via the ASKO Europa-Stiftung. To us, this is something special and our graduates think so too. Therefore, we have received videos from the 2020 award winners of the ASKO Europa-Stiftung and also the Hans-Werner Osthoff-Stiftung in which they make reference to the award, the donors, their supervisors, their master thesis and the Europa-Institut and thank them for their support. The videos as well as the information about the respective awards can be found below.

We thank all supporters and congratulate the award winners on their success!

Hans-Werner-Osthoff Award

The Hans-Werner-Osthoff-Award is presented each year to the student with the best master's thesis. The prize money of 1,500 Euro supports the best graduates and their start into professional life. The Osthoff-Foundation was established in 1990 as a special fund of Saarland University and supports outstanding young academics of the Europa-lnstitut, both in the field of law and economics.

In 2020, Aliz Káposznyák received the award for her master's thesis on "Arbitrating in Danubia under the UNCITRAL Arbitration Rules - Who Decides the Challenge of an Arbitrator?". We would like to thank the Osthoff-Foundation for their continuous support and congratulate Aliz on winning the Hans-Werner-Osthoff Award for the best Master's thesis!

More information about Hans-Werner Osthoff and the foundation can be found here.

© Aliz Káposznyák

Award of the ASKO Europa Foundation

The Willem C. Vis International Commercial Arbitration Moot and the Foreign Direct Investment International Arbitration Moot are two of the world's largest transnational competitions for international commercial law and arbitration. University teams from around the world compete to try a fictional case.

Each year, the ASKO Europa-Stiftung awards a prize for the teams' achievements. This year, the two teams from the Europa-Institut that participated in the Vis Moot 2020 and the FDI Moot 2019 received what is known as the "ASKO Europa-Stiftung Award". This year, the award ceremony took place online during the graduation ceremony for the class of 2019/2020 of the Master's program in European and International Law. The award recognizes the achievement, dedication and hard work of the participating students. 

As part of the 2019 FDI Moot team, Vishakha Choudhary, Tariere Richards, Andrés Eduardo Alvarado Garzón, and Angshuman Hazarika, who were mentored by Professor Marc Bungenberg and Dr. Greg Lourie, received the award along with the team that participated in the 27th Willem C. Vis International Commercial Arbitration Moot. Willem C. Vis International Commercial Arbitration Moot. The Vis Moot Team consisted of Europa-Institut Master's students Aurélie Brenneke, Pilar Clavel Nieto, Sanika Kulkarni, Aygul Mammedova, and Law School students Florian Zenner, Hagen Wagner and Jennifer Wassenberg. Both teams received prize money of 750 Euro.

We would like to thank the ASKO Europa-Stiftung for their support and congratulate the team members and their coaches once again!

© Vishakha Choudhary, Tariere Richards, Andrés Eduardo Alvarado Garzón, Angshuman Hazarika, Aurélie Brenneke, Pilar Clavel Nieto, Sanika Kulkarni, Aygul Mammedova, Florian Zenner, Hagen Wagner, Jennifer Wassenberg

Villa Lessing Europe Award

The Europe Award of the Villa Lessing - Liberale Stiftung Saar is aimed at students of the Europa-Institut in the fields of law and economics who deal with the development of economics and law in Europe in their master's thesis. In general, the master thesis should deal with the strengthening of freedom and competition in Europe, European integration on a liberal basis, the strengthening of European civil society and the position of the citizen in European unification. Up to four prizes, awarded each year by Villa Lessing, are endowed with 1,500 Euro each.

In 2019, the Villa Lessing Europe Prize in the Legal Studies section went to Berfu Yalçın, Afolabi Oluwatomiwa Adekemi, Evangelia Karagkouni, Chin Hung James Tong, and Mirjana Maric.The 2020 Villa Lessing Europe Award went to master's students Maria-Christina Pantazi, Julia Kreidel, and Ingrid Sigstad Lie from the Europa-Institut Law Section.

Villa Lessing - Liberale Stiftung Saar is the Liberal Foundation of Saarland. The purpose of the foundation is to promote democratic and civic education, to promote science, research and culture on a liberal basis, and to promote international understanding and European unification.

We thank Villa Lessing for its continuous support and congratulate all winners of the Villa Lessing Europe Award!

© Julia Legleitner

More info and videos of the award winners can be found on our social media channels.