Europa-Institut Opening Ceremony on 21 October 2019

The Europa-Institut celebrated its opening ceremony on 21 October 2019 at the Aula of Saarland University with interesting contributions, two prizes that were awarded to successful students and happy graduates

On Monday, 21 October, the Europa-Institut celebrated its opening ceremony in the Aula of Saarland University. After a musical opening, the Vicepresident of Europe and International at the University of Saarland welcomed all guests and awarded the Hans-Werner-Osthoff Prize for the best master thesis to Evangelia Karagouni from Greece.

After words of greeting by Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. Tiziana Chiusi, Dean of the Faculty of Law and Peter Strobel, Minister für Finanzen und Europa & Minister der Justiz des Saarlandes, Klaus-Peter Beck, Chairman of the Board of Trustees of the ASKO EUROPA-STIFTUNG, awarded the prize of the ASKO EUROPA-STIFTUNG to the team of last year's VIS-Moot participants Afolabi Adekemi from Nigeria, Vishakha Choudhary from India, Filip Matcović from Croatia, Viktorija Rajić from Bosnia and Herzegovina, Xingyan Ren from China and Tamar Shvelidze from Georgia. 

The keynote lecture The principle of mutual trust between EU Member States in the area of freedom, security and justice”  was given by Prof. Dr. Clemens Ladenburger, Hauptrechtsberater im Juristischen Dienst der Europäischen Kommission in Brüssel.

Afterwards, the two directors of the Europa-Institut Prof. Dr. Marc Bungenberg and Prof. Dr. Thomas Giegerich presented the certificates to the successful participants of the class of 2018/2019. In the subsequent reception, the old and new students were able to exchange ideas and celebrate together.

We wish all graduates all the best for their future careers and hope to see them all at the Europa-Institut as often as possible.